If there was a better way to go it would find me

When visiting my mother I found this:

image

This laminated bad boy was my ticket to high school freedom. Whensoever the fancy took me to maybe not attend a class, I always had an ironclad yellow alibi. I got pretty good use out of this flexible friend when it came to physical education. It really was amazing how all my musical instrument lessons coincided every week! Weird huh!

I also found some old drawings I did. Now although I am using Accidental Tentacles for my arty stuffs these days, I have vowed to only post new work, no old has-beens for that shiny new site (except the header dragon, and he will go as soon as I make a suitable replacement).

image

Here is an example. A hint of tortured mask wearing vampire.
I was really flattered to be referred to as an artist recently by a talented writer known as Gordon Flanders, instead of just a weirdo, or a nerd šŸ™‚ it pretty much made my week. Though based on the above picture he may retract that descriptor! Now that I’m talking about Gordon, I’d like to mention that without his feedback when I started this blog years ago, I probably wouldn’t have had much confidence to continue, so I am ever grateful that he stumbled here, so go read his blog if you don’t already, you won’t be disappointed! While I’m on a train of praise and thanks I’d also like to thank the babe and Tony Single for their continued inputs, you guys are so amazing and it’s really just incredible to have you come and read my inane jabbering šŸ™‚ I feel very lucky to have caught your attention. Go read their blogs too, ok?

Now for something possibly even more awesome, a picture of my childhood dog Abbie:

image

Now, I’m sure you are thinking that your dog is probably way better than this one, but I regret to inform that you are wrong. This beastie was the pinnacle of all dog, or for that matter mammalian evolution and her like will never be seen again. Certainly not to be confused with this monster:

image

Who incidentally, I taught to play fetch during my visit. She’s an eight year old nervous nutcase and normally just wants to go for your ankles but this visit she wanted to be my buddy, so I guess my dog whispering is on point. I’m still watching you Tiggy, I know how your brain just pivots in weird ways sometimes.

I’ve written two posts recently that are sat in my drafts because I have finally developed the maturity to realise that sometimes you don’t need to impulsively let off every thought that you have to run rampant in the world wide Web. Sometimes prudence is your friend, and pissing people off just isn’t always worth it. They are safely out of my head and in my drafts and I think it would be best all round if they stay there.

The title of this post is, of course, from Fiona Apple’s song “extraordinary machine”.

Also sorry if you saw this on my other site for a flash. It’s my first slip-up since blog bifurcation!

4 thoughts on “If there was a better way to go it would find me

  1. Thank you! I always appreciate it when your name pops up at the end of my posts. šŸ˜‰

  2. Aw! What a great post, had all my favorite things. Your art, a picture of a beloved dog, some high school nostalgia, insight (I recently stopped myself from posting something), Fiona Apple, and my name! More old drawings please. It’s fun seeing your creative roots. And more talk about me never hurts.

    Glad you’re still in this game šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

