Imperfect purple tipping (hair-related alliteration)

Sometimes I just want to do something different with my hair. Usually this results in ill-advised experimentation and the realisation that I am actually not a hairdresser and no, it’s not as easy as it looks.

I figured I would like to have purple tips to my red hair..sounds easy right? Well aside from the obstacle of having painted the bathroom walls green today, there are actually some tricky aspects to this endeavour, not to mention the feathering I have at the front. I will show you the result because then you’ll see what I struggled with.

image

Thanks to a tip from my hairdresser (tie your hair up in hairbands and backcomb a bit) I managed to avoid the nasty straight line dip dye effect, however what I didn’t quite manage was making the effect quite even on both sides. It’s OK though because it will wash out in a couple of weeks (probably) and without a camera flash, i.e. if you have eyes rather than a phone camera, the colour looks much darker, which is in turns disappointing and a blessing. Have you ever tried to take a photo of your hair from the back? It requires some contortion!
I’ll pop some extra crimson over the rest of my hair to brighten it up next weekend as it’s beginning to look a little orangey already, then think about balancing out the purple or, y’know, just wash it out. Or do the whole lot purple maybe? I am due to attend a funeral and a work trip for which purple and red hair is fine, but badly done purple and red hair is less good. In the worst case I’ll just wear it in a bun and look smart and /or professional..ish
image

I’ll just hope my skin isn’t so bad I need my hair to hide it. I don’t want to involve an actual hairdresser as that will result in a £60 fee, so I’ll keep on trying to fix my mistakes until I go too far…

I should add that this is my second attempt at this effect, and this time is considerably better, so imagine how the first one went…if you leave a dye like this on already dyed hair for longer than it says on the box it doesn’t go brighter, it just gets darker!

In case you are weird and want to try this for yourself, or if you are my future self and can’t remember, I used colour freedom in mystic purple on top of schwarzkopf live and lift in shade 38. I will top up the red using colour freedom in crimson, and probably simultaneously decorate the sink, floor, towels, walls and toilet with artistic pinky blotchy patches :S

4 thoughts on “Imperfect purple tipping (hair-related alliteration)

  1. soundedmind says:

    I like how it turned out. I’m getting mine done soon. I’m not sure what colors I’m going to use or how much of them I’m going to use. LOL. Wish me luck!

  2. Tony Single says:

    Damn, I love this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

