And you will know me by the trail of carmex and hairbands

Everywhere I go I seem to drop carmex and hairbands.
On days like this I wonder what it’s like to be one of those people who possess admirable traits. Like not dropping hairbands and lipbalm everywhere and winding up in a frenzied hair and chapped lip drama. I wonder what it’s like to be pretty, no beautiful…the kind of beauty where people turn their heads for you and you never have self-confidence issues because everyone keeps telling you how gorgeous you are. I wonder what it’s like to be organised…the kind of organised that allows you to plan people’s birthday cards and presents so they actually get there in time. I wonder what it’s like to be smart, to be able to see beyond what most people can, and be revered for your opinions. I wonder what it’s like to be really kind and generous, to the extent that all around you are aware of how nice and selfless you are. I wonder what it’s like to be polished and manicured, in freshly iron clothing, with nary a hair out of place and live in an immaculate house. I wonder what it’s like to not feel the need to daydream about all the qualities that you do not and will not ever possess, to stop constantly craving reassurance and approval from others.
I wonder if I’ll ever stop lamenting the loss of things I have never possessed, and embrace my position as a mere flawed mortal. Damn you generation Y parenting and your unrealistic praise. But then again, I bet those super pretty, super smart super tidy super kind super organised people wouldn’t inadvertently leave themselves an inedible trail to follow should they find themselves at the folkloric gingerbread house.

“You left me here,
Capsized and sinking,
thinking, right now,
there’s no more good guys”~skindive, no more good guys

3 thoughts on “And you will know me by the trail of carmex and hairbands

  1. I wonder what it’s like to be perfect…

Leave a Reply

