Haircare trial failure. Forget mending my hair, please mend my nostrils

I thought I’d try umberto giannini shampoo and conditioner again as I had some success with the weightless feel of the pure beauty range but just as my fingers graced the bottle I noticed a new product range aimed at mending poor condition hair (Mend my hair). Yay! I thought, this must be even better! So I parted with my cash and walked away feeling smug.

Today I tried it out, and here is what I discovered:

-The shampoo comes in a groundbreaking phlegm format, such that you cannot lather, or spread it well and can only apply sticky gobs of the stuff onto your scalp. Yum!
-Being sulphate-free the shampoo is quite mild so if you have a greasy scalp then this will simply not do the job for you and will just leave your scalp feeling dirty. Great stuff!

-The fragrance is unmistakably masculine and reminiscent of cheap mens Deodorant. Who doesn’t want to wear that smell on their head?

-I found that doing a second shampoo with my trusty John Freida shampoo fixed these issues. Phew!

Zero points to the shampoo, it failed to clean or even leave me hair smelling nice. In the bin with you matey!

-The conditioner comes with a slightly different masculine cheap Deodorant scent that is even stronger. You are supposed to leave this bad boy in for 10 mins but I simply couldn’t stand the smell so after 3 mins I caved and washed it out as thoroughly as possible.

-For a conditioner, this guy didn’t do a whole lot of conditioning. It actually made my hair feel weirdly dry and crispy :S so it took a ton of hair oil to get some normalcy back into the texture.

– The scent lingers, oh my god how it lingers! I have added elixir and initialiste (both strongly scented) and dried my hair but it STINKS. Frankly I’m embarrassed to to go work with a head smelling like lynx body spray but I don’t have time to re-wash. If you are a guy I expect the fragrance will be a bit less offensive bit for me it is just horrid. And it’s going to follow me around until tomorrow morning. I’ll keep my hair tied up and hope not too much escapes into the wild (ie nostrils of co-workers)

Bottom line: a shampoo that doesn’t clense and a conditioner that doesn’t moisturise.

Umberto Giannini, you missed the mark on this range. By quite a substantial distance; I’m not even sure you had an arrow in that bow.

5 thoughts on “Haircare trial failure. Forget mending my hair, please mend my nostrils

  1. I’m not joking when I say that I asked the girls at work to small my hair as soon as J got there. They concurred. Hair smelt like a whole can of cheap Deodorant had been sprayed over it. They also told me I might want to stop asking people to sniff my hair lest they get the wrong idea!
    I’m sorry hair that I blow dried you twice in one day BUT in my defense, I added some of that Crimson hairdye into the last condition step so you get to be all shiny…mmmk?

  2. Usually you get what you pay for but when you don’t…what a bitch. Spray some cooking oil on there; that should trap the smell. Also nothing will stick to your head, added bonus.

  3. The V-Pub says:

    I’m not sure it you accept nominations for blog awards, but if you do, one awaits you.

    Thanks,

    Rob

    https://weight2lose2013.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/versatile-and-thundering/

  4. Ah thanks Rob but I’m not really into the awards thing. I appreciate the thought though 🙂

Leave a Reply

