Sand in the skies

I remember the heady feeling of being adored and then admiring in turn. The euphoric anticipation of throwing my arms out, with eyes closed and knowing I’d effortlessly catch something that held the form and texture of love. I remember contagious smiles, unspoken secrets and air that was electric with laughter. Maybe I was golden then, when my hair was thicker, my face fuller and not everything I touched turned to jade. Maybe I was Jupiter then, maybe I was Diana, maybe I was everything you wanted me to be. The roses have gone now though, and the sand is just running through my fingers. Those days are gone, and with it my invincibility.

did I somehow become you 
without realizing ?”~ tori amos, oysters

3 thoughts on “Sand in the skies

  1. Jennifer says:

    Very pretty. 🙂

  2. Love this! Especially the Jupiter and Diana part

Leave a Reply

