Who remembers the roadkill?

When I see roadkill I feel sad. I imagine that the lifeless form was a sterling pillar of their fluffy or feathery society, and that they were cruelly struck down in their prime by some abominable moving machine. The emotions of sympathy and loss are strong but for how long? Whenever I see roadkill on my cycle rides I play a sort of game with myself. The game I play is to see how quickly I forget. Its really torturous to go past a squashed Mr or Mrs hedgehog who I saw yesterday but somehow forgot in the interrim. Then comes the guilt. So was that sadness even real? How can you be sad one moment then forget it the next? It took me a whole week before I actually  anticipated the carcass of spikey splodge. Today it was a mouse, a white one too, sprawled across the path, victim to some cruel feline amusements no doubt, but I’d forgotten all about it until I came back past it again. I’ll remember that little mouse tomorrow because I’ve made a point of writing about him. Poor young Cecil, snapped into the jaws of a moggie while he was out finding food for his wife esmerelda. Esme will try to move on in time, of course, but I wonder if she’s still.waiting. For him to come home?

3 thoughts on “Who remembers the roadkill?

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think I know the answer to this. “Getting over” something is really a fancy way of saying you forgot it. The human brain is wired (I think, this is my theory anyway) to survive by any means necessary, and the best way to not be sat on your ass with grief is to not think about it, and the best way to not think about something is to forget it.

    It’s easier when the loss and sadness is abstract, like with a dead animal. That creature really had no immediate impact on your life, so your mind quickly categorizes it and files it away for safekeeping (read: forgetting). You think “that’s sad,” and then life goes on. You can’t do that well with someone or something you were very close to personally, unlike Cecil the mouse, which is why that sort of grieving takes time.

  2. Nicely analysed and explained young lady 🙂

  3. Agree with Jennifer’s analysis. Poor Cecil.

Leave a Reply

