Forgetfulness leaves a bitter taste

It’s finally happened. I’m left with such a bitter taste in my throat.

Lack of organisation and extreme goldfish attention span had me scrabbling in the medicine drawer for the liquid version of prozac because all my pills are gone. I mean ALL. I’ve been bleeding my secret stashes for weeks..all those emergency few I have in a handbag or next to the bed, in the cutlery drawer, down the side of the sofa. All gone, and it’s my own darned fault. Again you are probably thinking I’m being a drama queen but if you’ve ever tasted fluoxetine then you’ll have the greatest sympathy. It’s kind of how imagine a spoonful of bile would taste and it l-i-n-g-e-r-s. It’s really a test of strength because 90% of me wants to just skip a few days to avoid this unpleasantness, but the 10% that can tolerate the spoons reminds me what happens if I do that…so sulkily I concede.

I’d like to blame the doctors for not having their phonelines open 24/7 for repeat prescriptions, and for those rare occasions that I DO call when they are in, being engaged!

I’d also like to blame the pharmacy that dispensed this bottle of liquid evil, as I’ve previously requested the one with sucrose not sorbitol, but here I am with a sorbitol, slightly minty flavoured liquid that is trying and failing to mask the gag and wince inducing bilious bitterness of this medicine.

I’d like to, but honestly it’s my own damned fault and this is my penance for not getting new pills weeks ago…

“I was alone, falling free, trying my best not to forget”

One thought on “Forgetfulness leaves a bitter taste

  1. Sounds gross, maybe try it on the rocks with a tablespoon of honey and 10 cl Scotch whisky.

    (PS I don’t really know how much a cl is…hopefully a lot)

Leave a Reply

