Soupy air, sweaty horses, rocks with teeth and weird Al

Friday was one of those days where the air has been like a savory broth, kind of thick, steamy and soupy. I hope that description suitably expressive the oppressive muggy heat atmosphere that accompanied a 31c heatwave. At work the aircon couldn’t cope and the humidity only seemed to rise during the day…all the bottles taken from the fridge immediately suited in a layer of sweaty condensation…liquid pooling at the windows to the 4c cold room…you get the picture…it wasn’t pretty. Yesterday wasn’t so much better but felt so much worse as our flat, being second floor, inconveniently accumulates the heat from the two flats beneath us, leaving it nowhere to go except snuggles up inbetween me, and a comfortable nights sleep. Thunderstorms don’t break the humidity…and the horses were not too impressed that they were taken out in this weather
Exhibit A

image

Hot horses awaiting a shower.

I have, as of the past couple of weeks, developed a sincere aversion to frequenting the dentist. Some ridiculous (allegedly rare) dental mistake cost me in money, time and pain. Three visits to fix the problem and yknow next time I’m offered anaesthetic there will be no sign of bravery…  Just sign me the hell up ok??
If that wasn’t bad enough the dentist must have injected the anaesthetic into a blood vessel on the third visit, as I got really shaky and sweaty and my heart was racing. I felt dizzy like I might pass out and so had to sit and be observed by a first aider until I felt better. Even then, when I got onto my bike I hopped off after about 20 metres because of lightheadedness, walked about a third of the way they finally got back on to continue! Bleugh. If that wasn’t traumatic enough then how about this?

image

Imgonna have nightmares about this.

In other news, I have been enjoying the spate of new weird Al videos…and showing them to people who also find them funny, or those who clearly don’t get it….hehe. What I did find was after a few listens of “word crimes” I saw slink to the following in the comments and felt the need to share.

Stephen Fry Kinetic Typography – Language: http://youtu.be/J7E-aoXLZGY

I guess my attitude to grammar lies somewhere inbetween weird Al and Stephen Fry, and I’m OK with that.

What I woukd also like to share is the fact that this story
http://time.com/2976464/rotten-eggs-
hydrogen-sulfide-mitochondria/

Is an amended version of a much funnier but almost entirely scientifically incorrect story stating that scientist (now furious ones I expect…) show that smelling stinky farts can cure cancer. I’ve got a cached version stashed away if anyone’s interested!!

Leave a Reply

