A good start to the week (yeah of course it’s about equines)

This week has started well. Sunday I went and rode Melly while my friend walked alongside. I was still a bit nervous of Mel (being on her back) after that unstoppable canter episode, so i asked my friend to take a leadrope and if at any point she thought I wasn’t in control, just to grab the reins! Of course Mel was a little angel ( after perfunctory dancing around while tacking up). I took her a few circles in the field before we headed out (as she was totally not listening to me to start with!) I wasn’t going through the gate until we walked and trotted when I asked, not just when madam felt like it!
We had a lovely hack, trotting here and there and we have found a new place to canter around the edge of a large field…so, instead of my usual giving proper commands for canter, I just gave her the reins and said ‘go on then’ and off we went, four sides if the field cantered (naturally she trotted the corners cos, yknow, it’s hard work cantering on a bend….and had to stop to sort out a stirrup issue ( new boots, not quite used to them) but that pony definitely enjoyed tearing around that field. The day before she had been ridden to the same place but wasn’t keen to canter. She must have been storing it up for me.:-)
Friend said we both looked so beautiful together she wanted to take a photo, but we were too quick, and she too slow. ( had I known I’d have taken Mel on another blast because for once I was apparently not leaning forward (or adopting a two point seat) and actually rode like a dressage test. I’ve not seen myself ride for very many years (school used to have a walk of mirrors) so I’m more than curious to see what horrible mistakes etc I am making! No pictures this week. I am really glad for my friend that Mel is taking the loss of Casper well. She looked for him in his stable for a few days but doesn’t seem too sad or nervous, but as soon as possible a new companion will be found so that she doesn’t get territorial or lonely. In fact, I think this week we will go and meet buster (one of Caspers old friends from the school he came from) who is up for semi retirement loan. Fingers crossed he’s a good natured beastie with many months if not years of health left in his tank.

Leave a Reply

