Could I be Walking Higher

Have you heard the song ‘Walking Higher’ by Heather Nova?

it’s so beautiful. seriously.

From the delicate finger-picking intro to the lush harmonies and breathy backing and strikingly clear lead vocals with the relentless drive of the rhythm – like a heartbeat through the whole song. I was going to just post my lyrical highlights but really, every word is pretty darned perfect – and as a  poem and a song it just leaves this shimmering residue of hope but longing. The magic of transferring emotion through time and space  – what an incredible skill to perfect. I just love the image of old buried bones feeding the new trees, so true, so inevitable, so natural and peaceful – the separation of the bodily chemical composition from the being that is the ‘self’. Just – breathtaking.

“I carry you with me,
A ghost inside
And in these shattered arms
You’re still alive.
I carry you with me,
A holy shrine
And dogs and angels follow
Right behind.

And could I be walking higher,
Could I be right beside her ?

The bones they buried
Will feed the trees
But every word you ever spoke
Is still in me.

And could I be walking higher,
Could I be right beside her ?

And I will feel for you in the music.
And I will send that river home.
And I will cry for you sometimes
When the night is down.
And I raise my head up to the mountains,
Talk to the birds and I fly
’cause the spirit lives on,
When the body dies

And could I be walking higher,
Could I be right beside her?
Could I be walking higher
Could I be right beside her?”

 

Another song that makes my tears well up!

I had a dream some weeks ago that I met Heather – she invited me to her house and she and her Husband made us sandwiches and chatted away with us – it was so surreal but later found that none of the photos I took came out 😦 shame it was only a dream – bit it was a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

