Solid sleep, beach riding and an English country garden

As you may or may not know, I took a week off work to visit my gran. I am now on train home and feel very rested and serene. I slept amazingly well in that still dark room, woken only by the sun pouring through the windows 🙂
I have happy memories of thAt house – rolling around on the front lawn, teaching the dog to play fetch, christmas dinners and secret nature reserve adventures. I feel at peace and totally accepted, appreciAted and loved there. I know the dog has a funny way of showing it! ( more rounds of long haired mini dachsie attempting to amputate a finger for me when I try to take her for a walk) but you know…it was just what I needed. To care for someone, to watch the birds and butterflies , to hear stories of life before I was born.
Just giving me room to stretch myself out, breathe deeply and remember who I am.

An added bonus was a beach ride along pakefield…I went to a riding school I haven’t been to in well over a decade, and rode a 20 year old 15’2 horse called captain. He was a sweetie! He looked after me but after riding highland ponies for over a year it felt very weird too be on a horse with such a giant stride abd bouncy canter! I lost a stirrup and nearly made a slo-mo dive to the sand! A minor stirrup adjustment later and I tried to regain some dignity! I must have looked like a total novice bouncing around like that! I was mortified that I plumped fir ‘advanced’ rather than ‘novice’ on the form…ohhh dear….but if it had been Monty I’d have looked amazing! Funny how you get used to a horse and their quirks etc…captain liked to give a little buck on the transition to a slo-mo canter and seemed to want me to hold his head up! Im used to my ride perking their heads up and going full pelt! Quite a different experience! Well I shall have to adapt to a 28 year old 15’2 so he’s probably quite similar to ride…haha! Im gonna look so silly to start with!

But memorable things this week were bouncy canters on the sand, strawberries, tea, good sleep, and escaping.

Leave a Reply

