bits and stuff

Today, though it started with arguing turned out ok after all.

Once it got on its way today featured ducklings, Sun, birdsong, coffee, talking (not shouting for once), finishing the last game of thrones book, relaxing, new curtains, Ida, new mirror, new hope.

That’s right folks. My day actually turned out non-depressing. Imagine that?! And a bank holiday to boot!

After some (me) not wanting to wake up and much (me) faffing we went for a drive in search of pyo strawberries- following the tempting signs only to realise that the farm wasn’t doing pyo this year. Grrr. So we pootled off in search of other adventures. The one we found was a most serene and homely adventure * a roadside pub and restaurant next to the canal with beer garden. For once when asked if I wanted to stop for a coffee I said ‘sure! Why not?’ instead of the usual…’coffee is cheaper at home’ I swear I could have spent hours just sat there staring at the light and reflections rippling off the water. It’s just so mesmerizing when you also have birds singing above. After investigating the menu I decided (for once instead of making excuses to sneak home for safe cheap lunchstuffs)that we should stay for lunch because we were both content sat there. So food (sadly not to my taste) came and was devoured over many conversations about the practicalities of owning a horse.

It turns out in my case it’s not very practical. At all.
So today I’m considering not buying Monty. Oh yes I never mentioned that did I? The pony I ride is going to be sold. Being a total sucker for a cute animal and falling in love far too easily my initial though was ok, I’ll just buy him and keep him and live happily ever after with my lovely pony.
But.
There are some things which my usual utopian fantastical self failed to consider.
Like money.
And time.
Small things really but muchly necessary for a horse owner.

So … For now. Am saying I will PROBABLY not buy him.

(you should see the faces THAT makes SO pull)

So to distract from the undeniable disappointment of missing out on an opportunity to live my dream of owning a horse I got some new bedroom curtains and ordered an awesome mirror.

They dont fill the potential Monty-shaped hole in my heart which could appear any time soon but they look pretty.
The best thing about the curtains are that they are not the old ones.

as in.

curtains are no longer orangybrown horrendousnousses.

 

🙂

Leave a Reply

