Something disturbing, something awesome and something darnwell painful

what a day!

I’ll start with the something awesome. I went to visit my gran and mum and rummaged in my old room. I found a story book that I wrote as a young kid with my best friend Emily…I still need to read through it as I can’t remember what happened, all I know is my handwriting was dreadful where Emily’s was neat and her illustrations far surpassed mine in skill!

Naturally SO has decided to take the piss, claiming it’s a story about pony pony and pony walking along, saying hello to ponypony and walking along saying pony pony pony. That childhood magic was broken entirely with his comment.

Ok something painful, I have acquired a saddlesore the size of a planet. SO thinks it’s ok to keep slapping my arse, mimicking a flicking motion at me while calling me ‘saddlesore’ or ‘bumflick’ and then taking the piss riotously when I say the sore is below my sit bone. Apparently as he’s never seen a sit bone on an anatomical diagram and continued making ‘humourous’ japes about sitting down on his SIT bum etc.
Sigh, maybe if I had looked it up before and given the medical term ‘tuber ischiadicum’ known as the sitz or sitting bones, perhaps he would have been less vile.

Ok now something disturbing. I found out that when my grans partner who is diabetic, became very ill, he was hospitalised. This is fine, then he was released to her and my mother to care for, but he had forgotten how to deal with his insulin injections. Instead of straight away calling the necessary people to find out how to deal with him, they believed him when he said it was ok to use the same needle for a week. Anyone with the slightest hint of common sense knows you NEVER re-use a needle…only the seriousness of the situation didn’t sunk in…eventually when he was rehospitalised they learned the truth…new needle every time…but they could have killed him. And somehow my mother was able to tell me this tale through bouts of laughter. I am horrified…they used the same needle multiple times a day, did not clean or refrigerate it, used it on multiple insulin vials….I’m just shocked that they didn’t think to ask someone (me) who has experience in sterile techniques etc….I just run cold thinking about it. I know that they were under pressure dealing with him but I could have furnished them with more information than they had and contacted the right people in the NHS had they only asked but I had no idea what was going on! So yeah…it just makes me wonder what games people are playing. There is more to add but I can’t write that here…I’m just glad the guy managed to survive without severe blood poisoning against all odds.

Anyway I will see if I can scan in that story.

Leave a Reply

